Shuttin’ Detroit Down

Shuttin’ Detroit Down

by John Rich

My daddy taught me that in this country everyone’s the same
You work hard for your dollar and you never pass the blame
When it don’t go your way
Now I see all these big shots whinin’ on my evening news
About how they’re losin’ billions and how it’s up to me and you
To come running to the rescue
Well pardon me if I don’t shed a tear ‘cause they’re selling make believe
And we don’t buy that here

Cause in the real world there shutting Detroit down
While the boss man takes his bonus pay and jets out of town/
And DC’s bailing out the bankers as the farmers auction ground,
Yeah while they’re living it up on Wall Street in that New York City town,
Here in the real world there shuttin’ Detroit down.
They’re shuttin’ Detroit down.”

Well that old man’s been workin’ in that plant most all of his life
Now his pension plan’s been cut in half and he can’t afford to die
And it’s a crying shame, ‘cause he ain’t the one to blame
When I look down and see his calloused hands,
Let me tell you friend it gets me fightin’ mad

Cause in the real world there shutting Detroit down
While the boss man takes his bonus pay and jets out of town/
And DC’s bailing out the bankers as the farmers auction ground,
Yeah while they’re living it up on Wall Street in that New York City town,
Here in the real world there shuttin’ Detroit down.
They’re shuttin’ Detroit down.

Yeah while there’ living it up on Wall Street in that New York City town
Here in the real world there shuttin’ Detroit down
Here in the real world there shuttin’ Detroit down

In the real world they’re shuttin Detroit down, they’re shuttin’ Detroit down.

“We now interrupt our scheduled program to offer you this important message;” politics! I was quiet yesterday on here for a few reasons, but I’m back and doing a new song. This one isn’t on my list because if I did a real list of all the song’s I could review it would be really long… But waking up to this song brought it to mind and I wanted to review it on account of the current political state of America now. Starting off, I love country. My brother hooked me on it after years of both of us cursing it and just plain not liking it. Times change and understanding grows, country is the genre of music that probably most closely mirrors my political views, with a few notable exceptions on an individual basis (Dixie Chicks anyone?) Shuttin’ Detroit Down is the only song by John Rich I have, and so there will be much less commentary on the artist rather than the song, I’m not feeling like wikipediaing him right now.

SDD is classic country politics in many ways, and highly relevant, considering it was written and produced a few months ago; its main content deals with the bailouts that are taking effect right now (and incidentally, we’re talking about those in Archaeology right now.) Beginning with traditional American values, passed off from father to son, Rich lays down the way America used to be, and how it grew strong, from the days of our forefathers to the “wild” west and the world wars. Contrasting with how it was, the big corporations and more importantly, government, are now breaking down and crying out for help, placing blame anywhere they can and reaching for our money. Whats more, the “solution” is only a partial stopgap, the “make-believe” will only work for so long; money’s got to come from somewhere, and once its gone, it ain’t coming back.

While I love the overall message of the song, I do have a few problems with it. The chorus gives the song its name and points out a sad function of the American system now; someone can completely screw up, mess a company over (or even just get unlucky and have something die on you) and jump out the burning building with a golden parachute (which ironically is better than a canvas one, just not at saving your life.) While all these elite are getting primed and prissed up, the foundation are being cut down and shipped out.

The part I really have a problem with comes in the second verse. I am not a fan of unions, I think they were of debatable use back when they were introduced, and are now killing America. That said, the song is true; men and women are loosing their jobs based on the workings of people higher up the echelon and often without need. Because of laws and the way things are, unions reps, who are supposed to help the workers under them, have grown fat off the work of both their workers and the company that the work with. Sadly, this excess is killing the companies who are rapidly either shutting down, taking government handouts (by extension money from us) or outsourcing. All of those options hurt America to some extent and only one keeps jobs in circulation, though it ironically takes more money away from the jobs that have been “protected.”

Well, thats about an end to my review of the song, a little about me since last time now. School’s end is looming closer, and I still haven’t really started on my research paper, though I tend to work better the less time I have left, so I’m not too worried. We had a fun discussion in archaeology today, where I bash the human race, and the masses especially (ask me sometime if you dare, Mr. Machiavelli and I have a bit in common, among other people.) I recently worked on a cheatsheet for the closers in the MLB for my fantasy league, trying to top out my team’s pitching, which I understand far better than the offence. But by taking the best pitchers, even in the closing role, I’m making the remaining teams pick worse pitching, and so instead of gaining x points per position more than I had been, I’m getting x points plus the deficit that the other teams could have gotten.

John recently introduced me to Pandora, the internet radio station that you can teach what to play. I’m fairly certain I’m one of the last people to find out about it, and it looks as though it may be ending soon due to the monopoly a certain company has and its bias against the internet(like many organizations actually.) So I’ll just have to enjoy it while I can. As a side note of that, it sorta weirds me out that I’m really enjoying gothic-esk music, and that orchestral music goes really well with metal and hard rock (though I knew both those last already.)

As a last note right now, I’m a Red Socks fan today, a Brewers fan, and a Cardinals fan, in addition the Bluejays and massive Dodgers fan inside me 🙂 So, here’s to the collective winning of those teams tonight and the transparent reasoning behind my current (changing daily) fandom; Fantasy Baseball!

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

