Haight Street

Once again it’s time for one of my infamous reviews! Today, we are featuring my favorite song off Anberlin’s newest CD, New Surrender. The song, Haight Street, undertones one of the things I’ve decided in life; you only “grow up” if you let yourself, its almost like “letting yourself go.” And now, onto the song!

Haight Street

By Anberlin

on New Surrender

Let’s, you and me, make our way just beyond Haight Street.
Lets leave this life behind, forgetting all they say.
The time we had is time well borrowed.
Stay out all night, forget tomorrow.

Let’s, you and me, make a night of it.
Old enough to know, but too young to care.
Let’s, you and me, make a night of it.
Old enough to know, but too young to care.

The rear view mirror shows the times we’re abandoning.
Let’s leave this night behind, forgetting all they say.
The time we had is time well borrowed.
Stay out all night; forget tomorrow.

Let’s, you and me, make a night of it.
Old enough to know, but too young to care.
Let’s, you and me, make a night of it.
Old enough to know, but too young to care.

(Who cares?)
If there’s trouble tonight,
(Who cares?)
’cause the kids are alright.
Tonight we’ll take this town,
’cause we’re old enough to know, but too young to care.

Let’s, you and me, make a night of it.
Old enough to know, but too young to care.
Let’s, you and me, make a night of it.
Old enough to know but too young to care.

(Who cares?)
If there’s trouble tonight,
(Who cares?)
’cause the kids are alright.
Tonight we’ll take this town,
’cause we’re old enough to know, but too young to care

So, the lasted CD off one of my two favorite bands…. Ye-yeah! Haight Street is is an energetic, upbeat song about life and relationships. Slightly ironic in that Stephen Christian, the songwriter and performer of the song is actually turning 29 on my birthday (I keep finding cool things on my birthday, its great :)) so he’s not quite a young guy, though old by no means. Anyway, the song is slightly hedonistic in its message, boiling down to live for today. On the other hand, we’re commanded to live as though we haven’t got any more days left, in the words of one songwriter “I’m living the next five minutes like these are my last five minutes” in the Bible as it pertains to the second coming. Regardless, its a call to forget about how old you are and just live. Don’t worry about the world, and just take off.

Today, marks the first month’s completion of this blog. The first post would have been a month ago from tomorrow, but I actually made it a month ago today. Its funny how much people change over time, and even over short amounts of time. Stuff you’ve done years ago can turn up and surprise you in strange ways, and sometimes in not so fun ways. Its during these hard times you really find out who your real friends are, as the proverb says “A brother is born for adversity,” and no one can survive long as a human without that kind of help. In about two weeks (depending on which day you count) Meagan and I will have been dating 6 months, something that sorta makes me laugh a little and thing some. It really doesn’t seem that long and I’m constantly amazed how fast time goes on.

My grandparents are out of town, which means I have a huge house to myself, several hours a week of watering to do, and an attention hungry cat to put up with. Many people would cry “Party!” at the word of an open house, but its just not quite my thing. I’ve had some friends over, and hopefully will have a few more over soon again, but nothing like the “Parties” of the people my age.

Piggyback to the party sentiment, is my birthday; I’m turning 21 in a little less than two months. Now I’m still not quite half as old as my dad (that comes next year) and my hair will likely hit grey before white (being blond, his is skipping grey and going straight to silver-white) but I’m starting to feel really old. I know that statistically I’ll live almost four times what I have already, and by the time I hit that age, there will probably be more stuff to help me live longer, but I am feeling older now. I only have adults and teenagers as my siblings, and come January, my youngest cousin will be a teen! My brother may very well be getting married to his wonderful girlfriend in a year or two (my parents and grandparents would have a heart attack reading this, and if they are, I’m sorry, just my feelings on the matter) and I’ve got other friends, most of whom are younger than me, who are already married or are getting married soon. Ironically, most of my friends who are older than me and unmarried or my age, aren’t likely to get married anytime soon. Some of my closest friends have something of a bet going on to see who stays unmarried the longest, and the mormon of the group aside, I’ve been slated to loose it first for a long time. My parents got married at about my age, and its crazy cause I see it all, and its not really happening to me but all around.

I’m not sure what that all looked like or sounded like, I want to get married some day, and maybe that day isn’t long off, but not today. I have a very sweet job, that I am quite frankly spoiled in, and yet, its not exactly what I want to be doing forever, though I wouldn’t mind working with the company for a long time, and maybe forever. Comma assault there aside, I just had a review there and was told something during it, partly in relation to the flexibility I have there, “You’re young, you should be able to live a little, and thats one of the side effects of the this perk. You get older, get a house and a family and you loose a lot of flexibility and can’t do the same things anymore.” So there you go, I’ve not been in a hurry to grow up sing i was in my early teens, and part of me will always be a little kids, even if I do end up slightly dour and sour on the outside.

Speaking of dour and sour, I saw UP this weekend with Meagan and was highly pleased by it. Its very charming and all around good. With the first blood I’ve ever seen in a Pixar movie (and very appropriate in its setting) it did have its serious moments, but was also a warming movie, dealing with he need for a figurehead in one’s life, and the presence of a father figure in a boy’s life. That last might come as a slight surprise due to my relationship at times with my dad, but I believe without him, I’d be a horrible little wretch, and I do love him still, even though we are at odds at time.

Well, enough rambling now, I’m off soon. I’ve been checking the tracking, and I think my Wacom tablet has come in! So at lunch, I’ll take a rare trip to the house and grab it to bring back to work. Tonight, if I have anything work mentioning I might post up a picture of me playing with it, so keep your eyes peeled 🙂 (not literally, that would be sorta sick and twisted.) So, take care all, and I’ll see you all later!

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

